The Complutense University of Madrid (UCM) is the oldest public university in Madrid, considered one of the most prestigious universities in Spain and the Spanish-speaking world.
It has two campuses: the campus of Moncloa and the campus of Somosaguas, in addition to the historic building located in the center of Madrid, in the street of San Bernardo in the neighborhood of Malasaña.

Of the eight Spanish winners of a Nobel Prize, seven studied or were professors at the Universidad Complutense. Among them, Nobel Medicine winners Severo Ochoa and Santiago Ramón y Cajal and Nobel Literature winners José Echegaray, Camilo José Cela, Vicente Aleixandre, Jacinto Benavente and Mario Vargas Llosa. Students of the Complutense University have also been notable people of the Spanish and universal arts, sciences, philosophy and politics such as Antonio Machado, Federico García Lorca, Gregorio Marañón, Manuel Azaña, Miguel de Unamuno and José Ortega y Gasset.

At the international level, the Complutense University maintains cooperation agreements with some of the most prestigious universities in the world, such as Oxford University, Paris 1 Pantheon-Sorbonne University, La Sapienza University, Rome University, Harvard University Of Chicago and the University of California at Berkeley. With the University of Harvard signed the agreement that allowed the creation of Real Colegio Complutense in Harvard, which has like objective to promote the intellectual academic and scientific exchange.

The Complutense University of Madrid consists of 26 faculties of arts and humanities disciplines, sciences, health sciences, social and legal sciences and engineering and architecture:

  • Arts and Humanities: Fine Arts, Philology, Philosophy and Geography and History.
  • Sciences: Biological Sciences, Physical Sciences, Geological Sciences, Mathematical Sciences, Chemical Sciences.
  • Health sciences: Nursing, Physiotherapy and Podiatry, Pharmacy, Medicine, Dentistry, Optics and Optometry, Psychology and Veterinary Medicine.
  • Social and legal sciences: Economics and Business, Documentation Sciences, Information Sciences, Political Science and Sociology, Commerce and Tourism, Law, Education - Teacher Training Center, Statistical Studies and Social Work
  • Engineering: Computer science.